Blog

Frozen (Movie Review)

FROZN_014M_G_ENG-GB_70x100.indd

 If there was something about this movie that caught my attention the most was its plot. Aside from the lovely character design and the catchy animation, it was the plot that carried everything out and it truly made the movie  unlike any of the other Disney animations in the past. Of course, all Disney movies has its own strengths but so far, cheers to the whole team who did Frozen. This one is one of the best one yet! To the person / people responsible for creating the plot, you / you guys are my inspiration. As an amateur and aspiring writer, I always love plots that contain sudden twists to it that would catch the readers / viewers off-guard and I tell you, FROZEN HAS THAT KIND OF EFFECT.

Overall, it’s a 5/5 stars for me!

THERE ARE MAJOR SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW SO IF YOU WANT THE MOVIE TO HAVE THE SAME EFFECT ON YOU AS IT HAD ON ME, PLEASE DO NOT READ BEYOND THIS POINT. THANK YOU!

Ever since it premiered here in the Philippines last Nov. 27, 2013, I’ve seen nothing but good reviews and tweets saying that it was a movie worth watching. In fact, even my aunt who doesn’t exactly enjoy animations posted a Facebook status the other day, saying that it was one of the rare times that an animated film didn’t put her to sleep (literally). With that said, I had the impression that Frozen was, indeed, a movie worth setting aside my thesis writing for.

Honestly, I didn’t expect such an awesome movie despite the many good reviews and my aunt’s apparent interest in it.

First of all, THE TWIST. That twist was something I DID NOT see coming.

When Anna’s heart was accidentally frozen by Elsa, I (along with, perhaps, many others) was given the impression that Christoph would be the one to break the curse after being told that true love is what can unfreeze her frozen heart. That impression was strengthened even further when Hunz suddenly became the antagonist of the movie and then Christoph came running back to the palace for Anna.

BUT THEN APPARENTLY OH MY GOSH IT WAS ELSA WHO SAVED HER AFTER ALL. ELSA’S TRUE LOVE FOR HER SISTER SAVED HER.

So why is this particularly significant for me? Well, mainly because I adore how Disney, this time around, changed the aspect of true love = love of man to a woman. I loved how they’ve changed their life-long plot of “true love’s kiss saving the damsel in distress”. I loved how, this time, they focused on the strong bond and love of family and sisterhood. THAT, IN ITSELF, WAS THE BEST PLOT TWIST EVER. I seriously ADORE whoever thought of that idea and it is indeed pivotal for Disney to do such a thing given that viewers will expect more of a romantic kind of love when it was mentioned that true love was the only remedy (since it is a Disney movie, after all) but then, finally, they focused on something much stronger than that.

This is precisely why I’ve mentioned this is one the best ones yet because the values it taught (especially to Disney’s usual target audience, the children) were much more practical.  Aside from the lovely characters, it’s the plot that truly blew me away.

Leave a Reply

